Lifestyle·November 2, 2026·6 min read

Halal Chicken Brands in Australia (2026): What Each Brand Actually Says

Eight Australian chicken brands, checked against their own websites and the certifiers’ own lists. No Instagram lists, no hearsay: if a brand did not say it, we do not say it for them.

Raw chicken breast fillets on a dark plate beside small bowls of spices

Which Australian Chicken Brands Say They Are Halal?

Four of the eight brands we checked say so on their own websites: Steggles, Lilydale, Hazeldene’s and Golden Farms. Steggles and Lilydale name AFIC, the Australian Federation of Islamic Councils, and publish a halal list for their crumbed, marinated and seasoned lines. Hazeldene’s says its chicken is “processed through a Halal certified facility” and points to AFIC, whose own certification page lists Hazeldenes Chicken Farm. Golden Farms says its chickens “are Halal certified” but does not say who certifies them.

The other four, Ingham’s, La Ionica, Mt Barker and Lenard’s, make no halal claim on the pages we read. That is not the same as “not halal”: it means the brand itself does not tell you, so the pack in your hand has to.

Is It Hand Slaughtered?

None of these eight brands says on its own website how its chickens are slaughtered or stunned, including the four that say they are halal. If hand slaughter matters to you, a halal butcher who can name their supplier is the surer route.

Halal shopping in the Souq

From sellers in our community marketplace, shipped across Australia.

Shop Now

What Does Each Brand Say, Brand by Brand?

Each card shows the brand’s own words or a plain summary of them, the certifier it names, and whether it states a stunning or slaughter method. Every “source” link opens the page we read on 2 November 2026.

Steggles

Says
Halal accredited, with a published halal list for crumbed, marinated and seasoned lines
Certifier
AFIC
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated

Lilydale

Says
Halal accredited, with a published halal list for crumbed, marinated and seasoned lines
Certifier
AFIC
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated

Hazeldene’s

Says
“Processed through a Halal certified facility”
Certifier
AFIC (and AFIC lists Hazeldenes Chicken Farm)
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated

Golden Farms

Says
“Golden Farms chickens are Halal certified.”
Certifier
Not named
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated (ANIC lists it as not using gas stunning)

Ingham’s

Says
No halal claim. Its FAQ tells you to ask your supplier, retailer or local Islamic society
Certifier
None named on its site
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated

La Ionica

Says
Nothing about halal on its home page or FAQ
Certifier
None named on its site
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated (ANIC lists it as not using gas stunning)

Mt Barker

Says
Nothing about halal on its FAQ page
Certifier
None named on its site
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated

Lenard’s

Says
Nothing about halal on its home, facts or about pages
Certifier
None named on its site
Stunning or slaughter
Not stated

Which Chicken Brands Do Not Use Gas Stunning?

ANIC, the Australian National Imams Council, names ten brands and suppliers it believes do not, among them Cordina, La Ionica, Golden Farms and EL-Amin, which it describes as the Coles Supermarket halal brand. Its list says these brands, to ANIC’s best knowledge, “use only Electric water bath Stunning or other Halal approved methods and DO NOT use CAS (Gas Stunning)”.

Read that list carefully. It is undated, and ANIC says it is not limited to these brands or to products ANIC certifies. So a brand missing from it is not a brand that uses gas. None of the brands themselves states its stunning method on the pages we read; the list is ANIC’s knowledge, not the brands’ own claim.

Source: ANIC, poultry brands and suppliers

Is Gas-Stunned Chicken Halal?

Australian halal bodies disagree, and both have said so in writing. ANIC’s CAS Stunning Poultry Report of 1 May 2023 says the Australian Fatwa Council concluded that controlled atmosphere stunning “in its current form, is NOT fit for Halal consumption”, and that the method “cannot be accepted or certified as Halal”.

AFIC replied on 8 May 2023 that it “does certify other sites that use CAS” and that CAS-processed chicken from them is halal, adding that “No one form of stunning is more contentious than any other.” It also said the site ANIC examined is not AFIC-certified. This is a real difference of view between two named bodies, not a settled ruling, and we do not take a side. Our guide to whether Australian chicken is halal explains the stunning methods themselves.

Two Australian halal bodies, two written positions on gas stunning. Know which one you follow.

Sources: ANIC, CAS Stunning Poultry Report (1 May 2023) and AFIC, response to ANIC (8 May 2023)

Did this help? Keep HalalHQ free

HalalHQ is independently built and free for the whole community, with no ads and nothing behind a paywall. If this saved you a phone call or a doubtful meal, a small contribution helps cover the servers and data that keep it running.

How Do I Check a Chicken Pack Is Halal?

Look for a halal mark with a certifier’s name on the pack itself, then check that product on HalalHQ, which shows the evidence behind its verdict. The brand’s word covers the brand; the mark covers the pack.

For Steggles and Lilydale, fresh chicken is covered by their accreditation, but a crumbed, marinated or seasoned product counts only if it is on that brand’s halal list. For the brands that say nothing, the pack is all you have. If it shows no mark and no certifier, treat it as unconfirmed, and pick one that does.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which chicken brands are halal in Australia?

Of the brands we checked, four say on their own websites that their chicken is halal: Steggles and Lilydale (both accredited by AFIC, with published halal lists), Hazeldene’s (processed through a halal certified facility; it points to AFIC) and Golden Farms (says it is halal certified, without naming a certifier). ANIC lists EL-Amin as the Coles halal brand.

Is Ingham’s chicken halal?

Ingham’s makes no halal claim on its own website. Its FAQ answers the question by suggesting you speak to your poultry supplier or retailer, or your local Islamic society. Check each pack for a halal mark and the certifier’s name.

Is supermarket chicken hand slaughtered?

None of the brands in this guide says on its own website how its chickens are slaughtered or stunned. If hand slaughter matters to you, a halal butcher who can name their supplier is the surer route.

Which chicken brands do not use gas stunning?

ANIC publishes a list of brands it believes use only electric water bath stunning or other halal approved methods and do not use gas (CAS) stunning. It includes Cordina, La Ionica, Golden Farms and EL-Amin, the Coles halal brand. ANIC says the list is to its best knowledge and is not complete.

Is gas-stunned chicken halal?

Australian halal bodies disagree. ANIC said in May 2023 that controlled atmosphere (gas) stunning in its current form is not fit for halal consumption. AFIC replied that CAS-processed chicken from the sites it certifies is halal. Which view you follow is a question for your own scholar.

Does no halal statement mean a brand is not halal?

No. It only means the brand does not say so on its own website. Some packs from those brands may still carry a halal mark. Check the pack, and the product’s page on HalalHQ, which shows the evidence behind its verdict.

How we checked: each brand’s own website (FAQ, home and about pages) and the certifiers’ own published pages, read on 2 November 2026, with the key quotes re-read word for word in a second pass. We left out any brand whose own site we could not find or read. Brands change their pages; if one of these has changed, tell us and we will update this guide.

Comments (0)

Sign in to join the discussion.

Halal Chicken Brands in Australia (2026): What Each Brand Actually Says | HalalHQ Blog